Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre abbreviated as the VSSC is one of the major research centres under the Indian Space Research Organization.  It is formed under the Name of the great scientist Vikram Sarabhai. VSSC is located at the Thiruvananthapuram area of Kerala. It focuses on the Space vehicles for Indian Satellites.

Everything About Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre

Vikram Sarabhai Space Research centre is first started as the Thumba Equatorial Rocket Launching Station (TERLS) in 1962. But, later changed to Dr. Vikram Sarabhai, a great scientist of India those times called its name change as Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre. It is one of the major centres for Department of Space.

Thumba Equatorial Rocket Launching Station (TERLS) , Why it is Renamed?

Chitnis first the place is selected as Thumba as it was very close to the magnetic equator of the earth, making it an ideal location for scientists because of to conduct upper atmosphere, low-altitude, and ionosphere studies of the earth. Also, the major condition is to see the rocket launching very close to the center that takes off satellites. The Indian soil that has a dream of launching satellites from its own space. Therefore, after a long time it came true. At Kerala space centre scientists see the launches by standing on the beach.

Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre Vssc Building

 Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre History

In the year 1972, Government of India established the Space Commission and created a new Department called the Department of Space (DOS). ISRO now came under the DOS as its research and developmental center. The Space Commission lays down the policy, the space center actually executes has the policies through ISRO. The Secretary of DOS is also the Chairman of both the Space Commission and the ISRO centre. It is still there only.

Entities in Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre

  1. Mechanical Engineering Entity (MEE)
  2. Computer and Information Group (CIG)
  3. Management Systems Area (MSA)
  4. Control, Guidance and Simulation Entity (CGSE)
  5. Propellants, Polymers, Chemicals and Materials Entity (PCM)
  6. Launch Vehicle Design Entity (LVDE)
  7. Composite Entity (CMSE)
  8. Aeronautics Entity (AERO)
  9. Avionics Entity (AVN)
  10. Systems Reliability Entity (SR)
  11. Space Physics Laboratory (SPL)
  12. Mechanisms and Vehicle Integration Testing Entity (MVIT)
  13. Propulsion, Propellants and Space Ordnance Entity (PRSO)

Manpower in Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre (VSSC)

The VSSC has grown into a giant complex to become the major Technological base of the ISRO. The manpower in VSSC was less than dozen in the beginning has grown over the years, to the present strength of over 5000 engineers, scientists and other supporting staff.

R & D in Vikram Sarabhai Space Research Centre

Today VSSC stands as the largest centre of all ISRO units and is charged with the responsibility of developing sounding rockets, launch vehicles and certain technologies associated with spacecraft. The centre discharges this responsibility by a two prolonged approach:

  1. By supporting in-house, R&D programs in all major fields of relevance to space technology &
  1. By maximizing the utilization of..

(a) available industrial infrastructure in the country and

(b) expertise available with the academic and research institutions.

Rocket Ready For Launch At Vssc

Organisation of Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre

To carry out R&D in rocketry, the centre is divided into many entities, groups and divisions dealing with Aerospace dynamics, Avionics, Propellants & Chemicals, Propulsion, System reliability, Computer and Information, Mechanical Engineering, Composites, Materials, Programme Planning and Evaluation and Administration.

The Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre Library

Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre Library

Library is an important part of the information system in any R&D organization. So, it may be more appropriate, at this stage, to explain the background and status of the VSSC library used by the Space Technologists. The VSSC library had a very modest beginning in 1964 when it started at the Bishop’s house in Thumba. There were only about 1000 documents and a tiny reading room.

Later in 1969, it was shifted to its present location on the Veli hills, where it saw fast growth in size (now spread over 4250 square meters), staff-strength and readership, keeping pace with the other technological advancements in the centre and now become a major technical library in India with unique resources in the multidisciplinary areas of space science and technology.

It caters to the information needs of scientific and technical personnel of VSSC, LPSC and IISU for their R&D activities, Projects, and Facilities. This Library has been attracting academic community from Thiruvananthapuram and adjacent towns. All the Library services are extended through the Branch Library located at IISU Complex (Vattiyoorkavu) and Documentation Cells, PSLV/ MVIT (Valiamala Complex).

Major centres of ISRO in India

VSSC – Vikram Sarabhai Space Research Centre

The design and development activities of satellite launch vehicles and sounding rockets are carried out and made ready for launch operations.

LPSC – Liquid Propulsion Systems Centre

Liquid Propulsion Systems Centre (LPSC) is the centre of excellence in the area of Liquid Propulsion for ISRO’s Launch Vehicle and Spacecraft programmes

IIRS – Indian Institute of Remote Sensing  

IIRS is a premier education, training and research institute for capacity building in the field of Remote Sensing, Geo-information, positioning & navigation technology.

ACL – Antrix Corporation Limited (ACL),

Antrix Corporation Limited was incorporated as a private limited company owned by Government of India, in September 1992 as a Marketing arm of Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO).

LEOS – Laboratory for Electro Optics Systems

Laboratory for Electro Optics Systems is engaged in design, development and production of Electro-Optic sensors and camera optics for satellites and launch vehicles.

IISU – ISRO Inertial Systems Unit

IISU has been the centre of excellence in the area of inertial systems for launch vehicles and spacecrafts. IISU carries out research and development in the area of inertial sensors & systems and allied satellite elements.

DECU  – Development and Educational Communication Unit

The Development and Educational Communication Unit (DECU) is situated at Ahmedabad of India. It is purely dedicated for realizing satellite communication based societal applications in the country.

SHAR/SDSC – Satish Dhawan Space Centre

SHAR is situated at Sriharikota of Nellore at Andhra Pradesh.  The major Spaceport of India is responsible for providing Launch Base Infrastructure for the Indian Space Programme.

How to get a Job at VSCC

VSSC, the lead centre for launch vehicles development in ISRO, provides challenging opportunities for projects and space programmes. The rare, unique and challenging opportunities to contribute to the realisation of ISRO’s mission and to the development of the nation may be of interest to you.   Visit for new opportunities every time!



Veli – Perumathura Rd,



Kerala 695022.


Monday – Open 24 hrs

Tuesday – 8.45 AM to 5.15 PM

Wednesday – 8.45 AM to 5.15 PM

Thursday – 8.45 AM to 5.15 PM

Friday – 8.45 AM to 5.15 PM

Saturday – Closed

Sunday – Closed

Some FAQ’s

Sri. S. Somnath is a present “Distinguished Scientist” and a grade officer and currently the Director of Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre (VSSC), Thiruvananthapuram, the lead Centre responsible for all launch vehicle programs of ISRO.

Veli – Perumathura Rd,



Kerala – 695022.

The Vikram Sarabhai Space Research Centre is responsible for the launching of Satellites and Spacecrafts.

Also Read: Everything About Mee Bhoomi